RAC Meeting Minutes (June 6, 2000)

ANNUAL POLICY COUNCIL MEETING
June 6, 2000 1:00 - 3:00 EST
Washington DC
Room 81107 (Grand Canyon Conference Room)
Ronald Reagan Building
1300 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW

17 of the member agencies and organizations were represented. An attendee list follows the minutes.

This meeting of the policy council of the interagency risk assessment consortium is held annually to review accomplishments and to discuss and approve the annual plan for the following year (FY2000-2001).

Following introductions by co-chair Dr. Buchanan, the past year's accomplishments and ongoing projects in four areas were presented and discussed. These projects included

- Proposed Public Meeting, The policy council raised no objections to the dose-response workgroup's proposed public meeting on predicting human dose-response from multispecies data. The meeting will be held September 28, 2000 at the USDA APHIS building in Riverdale, MD.
- Risk Analysis Clearinghouse. The policy council was introduced to Dr. Wendy Fineblum, the Clearinghouse Coordinator, who informed them of the activities over the past year. Significant progress, including an active website, has been achieved. Member agencies were reminded of the need for data sets and thanked for their continuing advice and feedback.
- Microbiological Dose-Response Grants. The goal of these grants are to conduct research
 to support the development of risk assessment dose-response models for microbiological
 hazards associated with food. The concept for the grants arose from discussions within
 and technical support of the Consortium. The grants are focused on the following
 organisms:
 - *Vibrio* spp.
 - Cryptosporidium parvum
 - Listeria monocytogenes

A brief overview of progress and future efforts was presented by Dr. Marianne Miliotis, the FDA project officer for the grants.

- Intensive Outbreak Investigations. The goal of this project is to optimize the collection of quantitative data during foodborne disease outbreak investigations. The criteria and protocols developed in this project would be broadly applied to enhance the value of information collected from foodborne disease outbreaks. Roderick Jones, MPH, from the Chicago Public Health Department described the screens developed under the project and their efforts to apply these screens to actual outbreaks. Dr. Eileen Parrish (FDA) asked the Consortium for input on how to proceed following the end of the grant in December 2000. Recommendations included:
 - Better integration between epidemiological professional societies, the National Food Safety System, and AFDO.
 - Increasing the scope of the efforts to enlarge the pool of possible cases
 - Obtain additional support and collaboration with food security efforts
 - Study what can be done to improve timeliness on the local level.
 - Expand use of Pulsed-field gel electrophoresis and other techniques to aid in rapid identification of foodborne vehicles and outbreak recognition.

The draft year 2000-2001 Annual Plan was presented by Dr. Long. Suggested revisions were agreed upon and member agencies were given five working days to give further input. The 2000-2001 Annual Plan will be posted on the Clearinghouse website.

Additional items discussed included

The forum for the 2000-2001 public meeting, to be held in conjunction with the Society for Risk Analysis Annual Conference in December, 2000.

An introduction of Dr. Jerry Gillespie, the newly appointed Director of the Joint Institute for Food Safety Research

Dr. David Gaylor (NCTR) announced his retirement and replacement on the Consortium, Dr. Ralph Kodell.

Policy and Technical Attendees for June 6, 2000 RAC Policy Council Meeting

Policy Representative	Technical Representative
Karen Hulebak, USDA FSIS, RAC Policy council co-chair	Margaret Coleman
Arthur Liang, CDC Ralph Kodell, NCTR Dennis Lang for Ruth Kirschstein, NIH Robert Buchanan, FDA CFSAN, RAC Policy council co-chair	Emilio Estaban-Vaz David Gaylor Dennis Lang
Michael McElvaine, USDA ORACBA Margaret Miller, FDA OWH James Lindsay, USDA ARS Steve Crutchfield, USDA ERS	Michael McElvaine Margaret Miller Tom Oscar
Wes Long for David Lineback JIFSAN, Consortium chair	Wes Long
Spencer Garrett, NMFS Steve Schaub, EPA OW Robert McDowell for Chester Gipson, USDA	Angela Ruple Steve Schaub
APHIS Mary Torrence, USDA CSREES Vivian Turner for Elaine Francis EPA ORD	Rob McDowell Mary Torrence
Mary Bartholomew for Norris Alderson FDA CVM Eileen Chofness, EPA OPPTS Jerry Gillespie, JIFSR	Mary Bartholomew Eileen Chofness