

### **Technical Representatives and Policy Council Quarterly Meeting** September 17, 2014 Wiley Building, College Park, MD

# Welcome and Introductions

The Interagency Risk Assessment Consortium (IRAC) held its 2014 summer quarterly meeting of the Technical Committee and Policy Council September 17, 2014. The meeting was hosted by FDA/CFSAN in College Park, MD. Technical and policy representatives and guests from various agencies (Table 1) participated on site or by phone.

### **IRAC Status Review**

Sherri Dennis provided an overview of IRAC status. Sherri discussed the need for a volunteer to serve as the next Executive Secretary and encouraged the membership to reflect on ideas for changes that may better accommodate needs and available resources moving forward.

Transition of IRAC leadership took place. Jane Van Doren assumed Chair Technical Committee, while Yuhuan Chen completed her term as Chair.

## **"5 minute" Agency Updates**

Representatives in attendance gave a brief overview of food safety risk analysis projects and issues in their agencies that may be of interest to other agencies.

### Work Group Update

Michelle Catlin, on behalf of Alex Domesle, gave an update on the project "Evaluation of Dietary Approaches and Needs". Work continues and the workgroup seeks participation from additional agencies. IRAC discussion confirmed continued interest in the workgroup project.

### **Summary IRAC Member Survey**

Jane Van Doren presented a summary of IRAC member survey responses. Discussions took place and a number of suggestions were put forward on how to implement results/findings from the survey, including planning for 2014 activities.

Last Name	<b>First Name</b>	Agency
Akhter	Shamima	EPA OW
Alves	Tony	DOD VSA
Bartholomew	Mary	FDA CVM
Broder	Mike	EPA ORD (OSA)
Chen	Yuhuan	FDA CFSAN
Claycamp	Gregg	FDA CVM
Dennis	Sherri	FDA CSFAN
Hall	Wendy	USDA APHIS
Hanfelt	Margery	DOD VSA
Hearl	Frank	CDC NIOSH
Hoffmann	Sandra	USDA ERS
Hwang	Andy	USDA ARS
Miller	David	EPA OPP
Pappaioanou	Marguerite	FDA CFSAN
Pohl	Aurelie	USDA APHIS
Powell	Mark	USDA ORACBA
Raffaele	Kathleen	EPA
Reddy	Shanker	USDA AMS
Sanders	John	DHS
Spungen	Judith	FDA CSFAN
Thornberry	Suzanne	USDA OSEC
Van Doren	Jane	FDA CFSAN
Walls	Isabel	USDA NIFA
Wang-Cahill	Fan	USDA APHIS

 Table 1. Attendance (participated onsite or by phone)